Not going according to plan

Well I had big plans to use the month of August to finish the first draft of To The Skies. So much for that. I did, however, get the first couple of chapters posted over on Scribophile where the folks were very helpful. They basically told me I was doing it all wrong but they were nice enough to tell me it was crap in a way that made me look forward to rewriting it.

That was very helpful but it did tend to move my focus off of the current chapter and get me thinking about the rewrite.  Thinking about the rewrite may be a bit premature because I really should get the first draft done instead. One thing at a time.

I’m up to my earlobes in alligators at my day job at the moment as well so the creative juices just aren’t flowing the way I’d like them to. On top of that, I’ve been trying to spend a little quality time with Mrs. Novelist because…  well because I like spending time with her 🙂

Those are all pretty good excuses but they’re just excuses. I could kick myself in the ass a bit harder.

So my next college class is getting ready to start back up and we’re also heading into our semi-annual crazy time at work.  Nevertheless, I am still dedicated to getting a first draft completed even if I have to grind it out a hundred words at a time.

I’ll just have to hold off on the down payment for the Maserati for a bit longer.

2 thoughts on “Not going according to plan

  1. Things may not be going according to plan, but at least you are still working your plan and that is what really matters. Keep going.

Leave a Reply

